top of page

We Are Never Prepared For What We Expect

Have you read the book or watched the movie "Wild" by Cheryl Strayed? Do it, it is one of those life defining reads and watches. Maybe it is because I am counting down to starting the second half of my life that has me very reflective these days and so Cheryl's journey really resonated with my own life story.....so far. I look forward to embracing the second half of my life, to be confident and strong and bold and fierce on my journey from 50-100. I have a vision in my head of what I want this next part to be like. I see myself as a barefoot, colorful, wild and free older woman who has managed to find peace, to feel unburdened, embracing the imperfections of myself and others around me. I look forward to throwing off the shackles of my former 50 years and just letting things "be". I have learned that regardless of all of the lists I have made, all of the plans I have thought out and all of the directions I have headed in, I have never been fully prepared for what is ahead. Life is like that. Sometimes you are surrounded by gardens of beautiful flowers and everything looks, feels, and smells great....and sometimes, hidden amongst the flowers is a bee and you may get stung, it may hurt, it may even be life threatening but you patch yourself up, don't fear the bees and move on. Reflecting back, my life has been like that. So, over the next several months I will be featuring relections about the last 50 as I move into the next 50 with joy and no regrets.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page